Osler Medal Essay Contest, 2016

Posted by


William Osler Medal

About the William Osler Medal

The William Osler Medal is awarded annually for the best unpublished essay on a medical historical topic written by a student enrolled in a school of medicine or osteopathy in the United States or Canada. First awarded in 1942, the medal commemorates Sir William Osler, who stimulated an interest in the humanities among medical students and physicians. The writer of the winning essay will be invited to attend the 2015 AAHM meeting, April 28-May 1, 2016, in Minneapolis, MN, where the medal will be conferred. Reasonable travel expenses will be provided, as will a two-year complimentary membership in the AAHM. If the Osler Medal Committee also selects an essay for honorable mention, its author will receive a certificate and a two-year complimentary membership in the Association.

All students who are candidates for the degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy, or are graduates of the class of 2015, are eligible. The essay must have been written while the entrant was a student in good standing. Students are not eligible to compete for the Osler Medal if they have completed at least one full year of graduate training in history, the history of science or medicine, or the humanities or social sciences by the closing date of the competition. Medical students who have been enrolled in a graduate program in history or a related discipline should submit their essays to the Shryock competition. No student should submit an essay to both competitions in the same year. Essays that have been awarded an Honorable Mention are not eligible for resubmission.

Essays may pertain to the historical development of a contemporary medical problem, or to a topic within the health sciences related to a discrete period in the past and should demonstrate either original research or an unusual appreciation and understanding of the problems discussed. The essay (maximum 9,000 words, including endnotes) must be entirely the work of one contestant.

Additional information may be obtained from the Osler Medal Committee Chair: Mical Raz, micalraz@upenn.edu Entries must be postmarked or submitted electronically via e-mail (which is the preferred method of submission) by 15 January 2016.

Osler Medal Essay Guidelines

Past Osler Medal Winners

Osler Medal Committee, 2015-16

Mical Raz, Chair
Michael McVaugh
Mindy Schwartz

Comradejuliusofafrica-The Writers Bureau.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
The Twelve (12) Small Potent Episodes Any Writer Can Practice & Learn From. GRAB YOUR FREE COPY NOW... Did I say for free?
I hate spam. I will not share your email address with anyone. PINKY SWEAR..
Julius Kessy
Follow me

Julius Kessy

Founding Writer, and CEO at My Writers Bureau
Howdy friend! I'm Julius, a quite, a bit shy, but easy going guy... Thanks for stopping by! At My Writers Bureau, I write for my readers and clients, meanwhile honing my writing skills. I can help you do the same. Starting this blog, just out of a hobby, and seeing it growing pretty fast, is a joy! Feel free to leave your comment and help me spread the word.
Julius Kessy
Follow me

Comments are closed.